The Capital Area


Reykjavik Capital Area is a young, vibrant area inhabited by an educated, highly skilled population. The capital area; with an excellent infrastructure and a high quality of life. The area is surrounded by nature, where within an hour’s drive you can experience glaciers, waterfalls, lava canyons and other geological wonders. Iceland is located half way between North-America and Europe and is renowned for its approach towards sustainability, where 99% of all electricity in Iceland is generated from green, renewable energy.

The infrastructure in the capital area is extensive and modern. The capital area is closely connected to other parts of the country by road, sea, and air. A public bus transport system runs regularly. The capital area consists of (population round figures population Jan. 1st. 2022): Reykjavik (134,000), Kopavogur (39,000), Seltjarnarnes (4,700), Gardabaer (18,000), Hafnarfjordur (30.000), Mosfellsbaer (13,000), and Kjosahreppur (240). The total population (2022) of the capital area is  239,000, which is nearly 65% of the Icelandic population. The Greater Capital Area – defined as the area within a 45-minute catchment zone from Reykjavik city center – has an additional 43,000 inhabitants which amounts to 70% of the country’s population.

Links to maps:  Open Street Map, Google Map