Population & housing

The Reykjavik Capital Area stretches from Hvalfjordur in the north to Hafnarfjordur in the south. The infrastructure in the capital area is extensive and modern. Distances are short; the average commute only takes about 12 minutes. The capital area is closely connected to other parts of the country by road, sea, and air. The capital area consists of: Reykjavik (pop. 121,800), Kopavogur (33,200), Seltjarnarnes (4,400), Gardabaer (14,500), Hafnarfjordur (27,800), Mosfellsbaer (9,300), and Kjosahreppur (200). The total population of the capital area is over 200,000, which is nearly 65% of the Icelandic population. The greater capital area – defined as the area within a 45-minute catchment zone from Reykjavik city center – has an additional 40,000 inhabitants which amounts to 75% of the country’s population. The capital area has experienced steady population growth, while other parts of Iceland have remained unchanged or decreased

For further key figures for Reykjavik Capital Area, population and housing:  Statistics Iceland